40-Lap Budweiser Allstar Late Models Race at Dixieland Speedway on Friday

Elizabeth City, NC – After two weeks off due to rain, Dixieland Speedway will hold its 10th event of the 2019 racing season on Friday evening and will feature a special Budweiser Allstar Late Models 40-lap race, paying $1,200 to the winner. Four other divisions of competition will be held presented by Dixie 105.7, including the Rapid Ron’s Racing Sportsman, Little Caesars Super Streets, Biggs Cadillac Buick GMC Stock Fours and the R&D Super Fours.

The Late Model race promises to attract heavy-hitting regional dirt racers for their chance at the winning prize. Additionally, points are on the line as the season begins to wind down. Including Friday festivities, only three races remain in 2019.

The opening nine races have provided its share of drama and excitement. A couple of drivers have had dominant seasons including James Hissom, Jr., who rung the bell in victory lane to garner his seventh checkered flag at the most previous race in the Biggs Cadillac Buick GMC Stock Fours. He continues to lead the points chase. Billy Hubbard has also had a remarkable season. He collected his seventh win in the Budweiser Allstar Late Models in the last outing and padded his points lead over Larry Jackson by eight heading into this weekend’s events. Justin Pruitt continues to lead the points race in the Little Caesars Super Streets by 46 over Dennis Barnes and third place racer Josh Letson is within two points of catching Barnes. Troy Brickhouse has his work cut out for him if he hopes to earn the Rapid Ron’s Racing Sportsman title. With two wins this year, he leads Mark Gonzales, who has the season most victories of four, by a slim six points. Finally, Dale Ore, Jr. continues to lead the R&D Super Fours point standings.

Gates open at 5:00 p.m. on Friday. Practice kicks off at 6:30 p.m. followed by qualifying and racing begins at 8:00 p.m. Tickets will be available for purchase in person. For more information dial 252-771-5151 or visit online at dixielandspeedway.net.