Career Win for Strickler at Eldora

Kyle Strickler the Modified ace got his first big Late Model win Thursday night at Eldora Speedway. (Michael Boggs Photo)

June 4, 2020 at Eldora Speedway ($10,000 to win)

(Recap by Tyson Graves)

At the beginning of the week Kyle Strickler wasn't even invited or planning to be at Eldora this weekend. That all changed when a handful of drivers turned down invites to the unique Late Model Eldora Stream event at the Ohio half-mile oval. 44 drivers were hand selected to attend the event with a fan vote that would fill the remaining 4 spots for the weekend roster. Kyle Strickler was not one of them. But just a couple days ago Kyle got the call that he would be invited as an alternate due to drivers not accepting their invite to compete. This left Kyle scrambling to get things together to come to the Big E, a track he has shown speed and loves to compete at. During his trip the hauler had issues and he didn't even know if he would make it in time to compete on Thursday night.

In his post race interview Kyle stated that he was just happy to be here and that he had won a lot of modified races in his career but this one here has to be the biggest win of my career. Kyle was pumped and excited as he exited the car despite no fans in the stands at the hallowed grounds of Eldora Speedway. Kyle ran off with the feature event that was slowed by only one caution early on for Jimmy Owens. Despite one scrape with the wall early on that knocked the right rear quarter panel loose, Kyle was in his own zip code Thursday night with an over three second lead at one point over runner up Shane Clanton.

Last year's Dream winner Brandon Sheppard made move to the front rallying from a 12 place start to round out the podium. Another modified standout Ricky Thornton Jr came home fourth and the 2016 World 100 winner Bobby Pierce came home fifth after starting 13th. Mount Holly, NC driver Chris Ferguson was your fast qualifier Thursday night and came home in the tenth position.

Another preliminary feature paying $10,000 to win will take place Friday night. The points from the two preliminary nights will set the field for the Saturday heat races. The finale on Saturday night will pay $50,000 to the winner. All the action is LIVE on FloRacing.

Feature Finish

1. Kyle Stricker

2. Shane Clanton

3. Brandon Sheppard

4. Ricky Thornton Jr

5. Bobby Pierce

6. Chris Madden

7. Scott James

8. Ricky Weiss

9. Micheal Norris

10. Chris Ferguson

11. Tyler Erb

12. Shannon Babb

13. Dale McDowell

14. Tim McCreadie

15. Chase Junghans

16. Devin Moran

17. Dennis Erb Jr

18. Jonathan Davenport

19. Frank Heckenast Jr

20. Kyle Bronson

21. Steve Casebolt

22. Donald McIntosh

23. Brandon Overton

24. Jimmy Owens

B-Main Winners:

Heat Race Winners;

Heat 1: Chris Ferguson

Heat 2: Brandon Overton

Heat 3: Shane Clanton

Heat 4: Tim McCreadie

Fast Time: Chris Ferguson 15.281 seconds