Dillard Fires the Guns Saturday Night

Photo The Dirt Network

By Tyson Graves

(January 13, 2019) Saturday Night Cade Dillard picked up the biggest win of his career in the desert at the Wild West Shootout. After a flat tire kept Bobby Pierce from another victory just before midway of the feature Dillard capitalized. Cade started in the third position and took the lead on lap 18 and never looked back. Scott Bloomquist was the raciest he has been since opening night stalking Cade in the final laps and finishing second. The youngster Hudson O'Neal rounded out the top 3. Ricky Weiss who picked up the afternoon win finished fourth and Brandon Sheppard picked up another top 5.

Pierce once again set overall fast time with a lap of 15.257 seconds. Hudson O'Neal, Bobby Pierce, Cade Dillard & Jimmy Mars all picked up the heat race wins. Bobby Pierce who won the first three events came back to finish 9th after the flat time midway through the event. Bobby who looked to cash in big on a bonus struggled on Saturday with a rubbered up race track Saturday and then a flat tire robbed him of another loot Saturday night. Pierce still has a shot at a $25,000 Keyser Bonus if he can win the finale Sunday night. The Sunday night race will pay $14,000 to win. Making a total of $39,000 on the line for Pierce.

Rain claimed the Modified feature that will try to be made up in the finale later today. Bobby Pierce leads the Late Model mini-series points over Brandon Sheppard by 18 points & Darrell Nelson leads Tyler Wolff by 9 in the Modified mini-series points.

Sunday the Wild West Shootout will wrap up with hot laps and qualifying around 4pm Central time. Then the make up Modified feature will take place before the closing event heat races begin. All the action can be seen LIVE at DirtonDirt.com.


“A” Main (40 Laps):  1. 97-Cade Dillard, 2. 0-Scott Bloomquist, 3. 71-Hudson O’Neal, 4. 7-Ricky Weiss, 5. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 6. 18-Chase Junghans, 7. 2-Brandon Overton, 8. 86-Kyle Beard, 9. 32b-Bobby Pierce, 10. 1p-Earl Pearson, Jr., 11. 71rc-R.C. Whitwell, 12. 1g-Garrett Alberson, 13. 2s-Stormy Scott, 14. 75-Terry Phillips, 15. 42s-Don Shaw, 16. 44-Cole Schill, 17. 32-Chris Simpson, 18. 51-Joey Moriarty, 19. 7mm-Michael Maresca, 20. 91-Tony Toste, 21. 91p-Jason Papich, 22. 6rt-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 23. 28m-Jimmy Mars, 24. 942-Terry Casey.

­Series Points

Late Models

1 32P Bobby Pierce 320

2 B5 Brandon Sheppard 302

3 97 Cade Dillard 262

4 2 Brandon Overton 248

5 71 Hudson O’Neal 248

6 0 Scott Bloomquist 248

7 7 Ricky Weiss 238

8 18 Chase Junghans 218

9 86 Kyle Beard 197

10 1 P Earl Pearson, Jr. 184