Hedgecock Wires Field in Sexton Memorial at 411

Updated: May 28

Cory Hedgecock poses in victory lane with family after his career topping win at 411 Motor Speedway. (Michael Boggs Photo)

May 25, 2020 at 411 Motor Speedway ($10,052 to win)

Recap by Tyson Graves

41 cars checked in for the Scott Sexton Memorial race at 411 Motor Speedway in Maryville, TN. The $10,052 to win event was one of the premier events in the Late Model community Memorial Day weekend.

In qualifying Group A it was Dale McDowell who put down the quickest lap with a lap of 13.095 seconds. But it was Dustin Linville who became the new track record holder with a lap of 12.985 seconds. This was the first late model ever to break into the 12 second bracket at 411 Motor Speedway. This set the field for four heat races that would start setting the field for the night's feature event.

In heat race one it was Dale McDowell who ran away with the victory. Colten Burdette finished second, Ryan King third and Jake Knowles took the final transfer spot.

Cory Hedgecock won heat race number two over Nick Hoffman. Nick Hoffman debuted his Bloomquist Chassis Monday night. Booger Brooks and Michael Chilton took home third and fourth place.

Heat race three was won by Jason Hiett with fast qualifier Dustin Linville finishing second. The other two transfer spots were taken by Zack Dohm and Kyle Hardy.

The Silver Shark, Scott James was the winner of the fourth and final heat race. Donald McIntosh finished in second. Pearson Lee Williams and Illinois driver Bob Gardner came home in the final transfer spot.

It took two B-Mains to set the last few starting spots for the 8th Annual Scott Sexton Memorial. David Crabtree took the first B-Main over Cameron Marlar. The second B-Main went to John Ownbey and Jensen Ford nabbed the other transfer spot into the feature event. Provisional's went to Robby Moses and Joey Standridge.

Cory Hedgecock started on the pole and took the lead on the opening lap. On lap nine the caution came out for Zack Dohm who spun and had nose damage that ended his night. At the lap ten mark Jason Hiett and Scott James ran second and third behind Hedgecock. Just before the halfway point of the feature event top five running driver Dale McDowell pulled into the infield and was done for the remainder of the event.

At halfway Cory Hedgecock still held the race lead with Hiett in second and Colten Burdette moving up to third. With ten laps remaining Burdette had established himself into the second spot and was gaining on leader Hedgecock. But Cory Hedgecock was too much and held on in the final laps for the biggest win of his career winning the 8th Annual Scott Sexton Memorial paying $10,052. In victory lane it was all smiles as he held his daughter and thanked all his crew, family and sponsors for all their support.

1 Cory Hedgecock

2 Colton Burdette

3 Jason Hiett

4 Scott James

5 Kyle Hardy

6 Nick Hoffman

7 Cameron Marlar

8 David Crabtree

9 Jake Knowles

10 Pearson Lee Williams

11 Bob Gardner

12 Joey Standridge

13 Booger Brooks

14 Micheal Chilton

15 Donald McIntosh

16 Ryan King

17 Dale McDowell

18 Zack Dohm

19 John Owenbey

20 Jensen Ford

21 Robby Moses

22 Dustin Linville

B-Main Winners

B-Main #1 - David Crabtree

B-Main #2 - John Ownbey

Heat Race Winners

Heat #1 - Dale McDowell

Heat #2 - Cory Hedgecock

Heat #3 - Jason Hiett

Heat #4 - Scott James

Fast Time: Dustin Linville 12.985 seconds (NEW TRACK RECORD)