Hiett Starts on the Pole for the National 100

Jason Hiett in pit area Saturday at EAMS.

By Trevor Gonzales

January 26, 2019 - The rescheduled National 100 finally kicked off on Saturday afternoon as Jason Hiett from Oxford, Alabama would be the overall fast qualifier with a 14.243 second lap around the ⅜ mile high-banked oval. Originally, only 10 Super Late Models were registered for the $6,000 to win feature. Once hot laps concluded, the drivers meeting occurred in which track promoters gave the opportunity for the Limited Late Model drivers to participate in the Super Late Model portions of the event. After the meeting, 9 Limited Late Model drivers who were participating in the $3,000 to win National Late Model SuperCar Series (NLMSCS) would also register as a Super Late Model, allowing them to compete in both divisions.

Qualifying would be split into two groups with Group A determining the inside starting row positions and Group B setting the outside row positions. Hiett would be fastest in Group A and clinch the pole. Benton, Kentucky driver Tanner English, making his first start in the Randy Weaver owned #116 machine, would be second fastest overall and clinch the third starting position. Rounding out the top five qualifiers in Group A would be Dalton Cook, Michael Page, and Mark Whitener. Columbus, Georgia driver J.R Moseley would be the fastest car in Group B and secure the outside pole position with a 14.856 second lap. Kenny Collins, Joseph Brown, David McCoy, and Dusty Jones would complete the top five in Group B qualifying.

There would be no heat races as tomorrow’s staring field is set by time trials.

44th Annual National 100 Feature Lineup

50 Laps, $6,000 to win

Row 1: 1 Jason Hiett, 99 J.R Moseley

Row 2: 116 Tanner English, 1 Kenny Collins

Row 3: 1D Dalton Cook, 92 Joseph Brown

Row 4: 18x Michael Page, 17 David McCoy

Row 5: 5 Mark Whitener, 4 Dusty Jones

Row 6: 71k Jim Rogers, K9 Dana Eiland

Row 7: 42 Jake Traylor, 29 Christian Hanger

Row 8: 101 Forrest Trent, 82 Russell Flynn

Row 9: 5D David Whitener, 25 Chuck Hummer

Row 10: USA 1 Patrick Michel

***Cars that are running both NLMSCS and Super Late Models: Kenny Collins, Dalton Cook, Joseph Brown, David McCoy, Dusty Jones, Dana Eiland, Jake Traylor, Mark Whitener, and David Whitener.

In other action, 16 cars registered for the NLMSCS $3,000 to win race at East Alabama. The field was also set for time trials. Joseph Brown would be fastest in Group A with a 14.702 lap followed by Kenny Collins who had a lap of 15.216 seconds. In Group B, Dalton Cook would set the overall fast time with a lap of 14.659 seconds. Brown and Cook will start on the front row.

NLMSCS National 100 Feature Lineup

40 Laps, $3,000 to win

Row 1: 92 Joseph Brown, 1D Dalton Cook

Row 2: 1 Kenny Collins, 17 David McCoy

Row 3: 23 Ahnna Parkhurst, K9 Dana Eiland

Row 4: 92 Rodney Martin, 01 Travis Pennington

Row 5: Mark Whitener, 4 Dusty Jones

Row 6: 22 Jimmy Thomas, 6J Jackson Thomason

Row 7: 28 Taylor Puckett, 03 Oliver Gentry

Row 8: 42 Jake Traylor, 23 Bailey Temples

In Crate Late Model action, Mark Whitener and Jimmy Thomas will start on the front row of the feature after setting fast time in Groups A and B respectively with Thomas having the overall fast time of a 15.888 second lap. “Thugg Nasty” Logan Roberson and Forrest Trent will start on the second row.

The feature races for the National 100 at East Alabama Motor Speedway are tomorrow afternoon with hot laps starting at 11:30AM and the feature races to follow.