Hiett Wins the 44th Annual National 100

Hiett celebrates with crew in victory lane at EAMS Sunday. (Trevor Gonzales)

Photo Trevor Gonzales

By Trevor Gonzales

(January 28, 2019) - The National 100 feature finally got rolling on Sunday night more than two months after it was originally scheduled. It would be Oxford, AL driver Jason Hiett, running his second race in his new Barry Wright Racecar that would win the $6,000 prize and etch his name in the history books.

The polesitter of the race would slip back to third on the opening lap as second place starter J.R Moseley would lead the first lap. However, Hiett would get his tires going and find a groove. He would get around Moseley on Lap 3 and take the lead. Tanner English and Joseph Brown would also get by Moseley for second and third. Moseley would have issues with his car as he would end up dropping out of the top ten.

Ten laps in and Hiett would hold the lead over English, Brown, 7th place starting Michael Page, and Kenny Collins. Hiett would survive some early cautions as four yellow flags would slow the feature in the first 14 laps for Jake Traylor (Lap 1), Russell Flynn (Lap 3), Dusty Jones and David Whitener (Lap 3 Restart), and Jake Traylor again on Lap 14.

The top five would stay the same at the halfway mark on Lap 25 with the fifth caution of the race flying on Lap 26 for the slow car of outside polesitter Moseley, who would slow with a flat. On the Lap 26 restart, Page would get around English for second place. The yellow came out once again four laps later as Jim Rogers would spin in Turns 1 and 2 resulting in his car flipping multiple times and landing on his roof. He was okay and walked away from the scary incident.

Hiett would still lead on the Lap 30 restart with English regaining the second position back from Page. Hiett would then maintain a 1-1.2 second lead over English during the next few laps and he would run his fastest lap of the race on Lap 40 with ten to go.

English would then find a sweet spot in Turns 3 & 4 and begin to quickly gain ground on the leader Hiett. Within five laps to go, it appeared that English was going to get around Hiett on the outside until the final caution of the race came out with three laps to go on Lap 47 for David McCoy, who had a flat right rear tire.

The three lap shootout was great for Hiett as he had a very good car on the short runs. It was very hard for English to gain ground and get around the leader in such little time. Hiett would be able to hold off English, cross the finish line first, and take the $6,000 paycheck over Tanner English and Michael Page.

44th Annual National 100 Feature Finish:

1. 1 Jason Hiett- Oxford, AL

2. 116 Tanner English- Benton, KY

3. 18x Michael Page- Douglasville, GA

4. 92 Joseph Brown- Columbus, GA

5. 1 Kenny Collins- Colbert, GA

6. 5 Mark Whitener- Middleburg, FL

7. Dusty Jones- LaGrange, GA

8. K9 Dana Eiland- Salem, AL

9. 1D Dalton Cook- Columbus, GA

10. Christian Hanger- Winchester, TN

11. 99 J.R Moseley- Columbus, GA

12. 92 Rodney Martin- Cartersville, GA

13. 82 Russell Flynn- Pensacola, FL

14. 17 David McCoy- Franklin, NC

15. 5D David Whitener- Middleburg, FL

16. 71k Jim Rogers- Statesboro, GA

17. 42 Jake Traylor- LaGrange, GA

18. 25 Chuck Hummer- Lyon, OH

19. 22 Jimmy Thomas- Phenix City, AL

In other action, Joseph Brown of Columbus Georgia led all 40 laps to win the National Late Model SuperCar Series 2019 opener winning $3,000 and Mark Whitener would win the $3,000 to win Crate feature, leading all 40 laps.