Late Race Pass Lifts Bailes to Shrine Race Victory at Laurens County

Rose Bailes in victory lane after his Carolina Clash win at Laurens County. (Cole Perkins Photo)

September 15, 2020 at Laurens County Speedway ($3,500 to win)

By Cole Perkins

Clover, South Carolina’s Ross Bailes became a 5-time Laurens County Shrine Race winner Tuesday night after a late race pass on Trent Ivey lifted him to victory. The $3,500 triumph was Bailes’ 16th of his career with the Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series.

The 39th edition of the mid-week special event benefiting the Shriners Hospital for Children drew 18 Carolina Clash Super Late Models entries for $3,500 to win. Entering the event, Dennis “Rambo” Franklin led the series points standings by a mere 13 points over Michael Brown and David Yandle (-52).

Trent Ivey of nearby Union, SC was the fastest qualifier overall with a lap time of 13.819. With no heat races, the starting lineup for the 35-lap feature was set straight up based off of qualifying times with Trent Ivey and Ross Bailes completing the front row. Mauldin, SC driver Larry Grube failed to complete a qualifying lap after getting into the wall breaking his drive shaft among other parts; he started at the rear of the field.

Trent Ivey led the field to green and held off Ross Bailes for the first 26 circuits until the driver dubbed “Hells Bailes” stole the lead and never looked back en route to his $3,500 payday in the 39th annual Laurens County Shrine Race. Ivey, Zack Mitchell, Dennis Franklin and Brett Hamm rounded out the top five. Defending race winner Kenny Collins of Colbert, GA was the biggest mover after starting 10th and finishing 7th. The feature was slowed by one caution; a pileup in turns 1-2 involving Zach Cox and Nick Schlager on the second lap. 14 of the 18 starters completed the race with 11 of which finishing on the lead lap.

The Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series heads to Carolina Speedway in Gastonia, NC for their next event on October 10th paying $4,000 to the winner.

Feature Results

1 #58 Ross Bailes

2 #88 Trent Ivey

3 #57 Zack Mitchell

4 #2F Rambo Franklin

5 #18H Brett Hamm

6 #24D Michael Brown

7 #1C Kenny Collins

8 #42K Cla Knight

9 #70 Jeff Smith

10 #421 Anthony Sanders

11 #51 Dustin Mitchell

12 #22 Nick Schlager

13 #22D Nick Deitz

14 #03 David Yandle

15 #9 Mike Kernells

16 #40 Zach Cox

17 #K9 Deano Long

18 #29 Larry Grube