Neinhiser Rules Field at Tri-City

Paul Nienhiser salutes the crowd after his MOWA win Friday night at Tri-City Speedway. (Brendon Bauman Photo)

August 28, 2020 at Tri-City Speedway

Recap By Brendon Bauman

Returning to victory lane with the Morrow Brothers Ford MOWA Sprint Car Series, Paul Nienhiser moved himself within striking distance of becoming the All-Time Wins leader with the series as he now trails Jerrod Hull by three victories. Nienhiser used his outside front row starting spot to his advantage.

Nienhiser blasted into turn one to take the lead from Joe B. Miller on the opening lap and powered ahead of the field. A lap two caution from Kameron Key brought race to a halt, sending the driver of the 21 pitside for the remainder of the night. Two more cautions slowed the field prior to lap 5, one for Mitchell Davis spinning, followed by Austin O’Dell getting sideways and coming to a stop in turns 1 and 2

Leading the field back to green, Nienhiser jumped out front and had a commanding lead over the field by lap 12. As he worked through lapped traffic, second running Je B. Miller was able to close the gap between Nienhiser and himself, ultimately sliding past Nienhiser’s #9X machine and set sail on what looked to be a victory in the 25-Lap affair.

Miller’s #51 machine maneuvered high and low through the lapped traffic ahead of Nienhiser, who was being pressured by Carson McCarl in third, who with less than five laps to go, spun in the fourth turn of the speedway, bringing out the final caution flag of the event. McCarl rejoined the field and set his sights on moving forward.

Miller led the field to green for the final restart and upon entering turn one, had company in the form of Paul Nienhiser. Nienhiser pulled alongside Miller and motored away. Nienhiser scored his first MOWA Sprints win of 2020, followed by Ryan Bunton. Parker Price-Miller, Daison Pursley and Korey Weyant completed the top five.

(Brendon Bauman Photo)

Heat Race winners on the evening were Carson McCark, Jordan Goldesberry, Jason Keith and Brinton Marvel. Dustin Barks was victorious in B-Main action.

The Morrow Brothers Ford MOWA Sprints return to action Friday, Sept. 11 at Jacksonville Speedway for the annual Herb Barlow Memorial. On Saturday, teams will head to Spoon River Speedway for the Tom Knowles Memorial Both events will feature POWRi National Midgets.

Feature Results (Starting Position in parenthesis):

1 - Paul Nienhiser 9X (2), 2 - Ryan Bunton 6R (11), 3 - Parker Price Miller 96 (9), 4 - Daison Pursley 67k (17), 5 - Korey Weyant 99W (10), 6 - Jordan Goldesberry 65 (8), 7 - Terry Babb 47 (6), 8 - Dustin Barks 22 (18), 9 - Carson McCarl 27 (5), 10 - Mitchell Davis 3d (4), 11 - Brinton Marvel 21 (1), 12 - Jason Keith 28 (7), 13 - Brayton Lynch 29X (16), 14 - Jeff Asher 56 (19), 15 - Cory Bruns 42 (13), 16 - Joe B Miller 51B (3), 17 - Steve Short 8S (12), 18 - Jeremy Standridge 10S (20), 19 - Austin ODell 3 (21), 20 - Kameron Key 21X (14), 21 - Jeff Swindell 44 (15),