Page Wins the 2019 Ultimate Southeast Season Opener at North Georgia

By Trevor Gonzales, RPM Writer

(March 3, 2019)- The 2019 Ultimate Southeast Super Late Model Series kicked off on Saturday night and for the second year in a row, Douglasville, GA driver Michael Page would dominate the feature and win the $4,000 prize. Page would be driving a Stinger Chassis with a CT525 powerplant under the hood.

Michael Page in Victory Lane at North Georgia Speedway Saturday Night. (Trevor Gonzales)

29 Super Late Models were signed in at the race as the top five qualifiers in each group would be locked into the feature. Oxford, AL driver Jason Hiett was fastest in Group A with a lap of 13.307 seconds around the ⅓ mile clay banked racetrack. Joining Hiett would be 17 year-old Zach Leonhardi, Ryan King, Bobby Giffin, and Donald McIntosh. Page would be the fastest in Group B and the overall fast time with a 13.156 second lap. Page was followed by Brandon Overton, Tyler Millwood, Cory Hedgecock, and Booger Brooks. Morton Buildings World of Outlaws Late Model Series driver Shane Clanton of Zebulon,

GA would win B-Main 1 over John Ownbey, Jack Hale, Johnny Cloer Jr., Kurt English, and Austin Arnold. Riley Hickman from Ootelwah, TN would win B-Main 2 in the Jason Welshan owned Savage Chassis. Joining Hickman in the feature would be David Payne, Michael Brown, 2018 Ultimate Supers champion Zack Mitchell, Ray Cook, and David Crabtree.

Page and Hiett would lead the field to the green as Page used the outside momentum in Turns 1 and 2 to take the lead and lead the opening lap over Hiett, Overton, Millwood, and Leonhardi. Page would enter lapped traffic on Lap 6 as the field was setting a torrid pace on the track. 11th starting Shane Clanton would begin to creep into the top ten and pick cars apart while Cory Hedgecock would slip into the fifth position after a battle with Leonhardi and Ryan

King for position. The first caution of the race flew on Lap 15 for the slow machine of Daulton Wilson in Turn 2. On the ensuing restart, Page would still hold the lead over Hiett and Overton as Shane Clanton would get around Hedgecock for the fifth position. Page would continue to hold a half

second lead over Hiett throughout the green flag run in lapped traffic as the second caution of the night flew on Lap 26 for Johnny Cloer Jr.’s slow car in Turn 2. Page would continue to hold the lead over Hiett on the following restart with Overton staying in third place. Millwood, Clanton, Hedgecock, and Donald McIntosh would have an entertaining battle for positions 4th-8th. Hiett would catch up to the back bumper of Page with a few laps remaining until Page masterfully maneuvered through lapped traffic the final five laps

and was able to stretch his lead to the checkered flag over Hiett and Overton. Shane Clanton and Donald McIntosh would complete the top five with Cory Hedgecock, Riley Hickman, John Ownbey, Tyler Millwood, and Zack Mitchell rounding out the top ten.

9th Annual Ultimate Supers Season Opener at North Georgia Speedway

Feature Results:

1. 18x Michael Page- Douglasville, GA

2. 1 Jason Hiett- Oxford, AL

3. 2 Brandon Overton- Evans, GA

4. 25 Shane Clanton- Zebulon, GA

5. 7 Donald McIntosh- Dawsonville, GA

6. 9 Cory Hedgecock- Loudon, TN

7. 29 Riley Hickman- Ootelwah, TN

8. J0 John Ownbey- Cleveland, TN

9. 31 Tyler Millwood- Kingston, GA

10. 57 Zack Mitchell- Enoree, SC

11. 60 Booger Brooks- Chickamauga, GA

12. 1GK Ryan King- Seymour, TN

13. 53 Ray Cook- Brasstown, NC

14. 8 David Payne- Murphy, NC

15. 24 Zach Leonhardi- Cartersville, GA

16. 79 Michael Brown- Lancaster, SC

17. C5 David Crabtree- Maryville, TN

18. 97 Bobby Giffin-Maryville, TN

19. 22 Jack Hale- Southside, AL

20. A8 Austin Arnold-Mississippi

21. 14 Johnny Cloer- Chatsworth, GA

22. 17 Kurt English- Blue Ridge, GA

23. 18D Daulton Wilson- Fayetteville, NC

24. 29m Gary McPherson- Dalton, GA

DNS- 07 Scott Hall, 3x Bo Eaton, 14 Aaron Wilson, 27j Jay Scott, 87 Andrew Littleton

The next race for the Ultimate Southeast Super Late Model Series will be on Friday, March 23rd at County Line Raceway in Elm City, NC for the “Tar River Rumble” paying $4,000 to win.