Rico WIns MOWA at Lincoln

Rico Abreu was the winner in MOWA action Friday night at Lincoln. (Brendon Bauman Photo)

July 17, 2020 at Lincoln Speedway

(By Brendon Bauman)

Picking up where he left off at the end of 2019 with the MOWA Sprints, Rico Abreu sailed to victory aboard his ShopRico.com #24 in dominating fashion, at Lincoln Speedway for the Morrow Brothers Ford MOWA Sprint Car Series victory. Fresno, Calif.’s Dominic Scelzi powered forward from his eighth-place starting position to finish second with Paul Nienhiser completing the podium. A race slowed plagued with three cautions, bunched the field up allowing the field to attempt to catch race leader Abreu. Maneuvering his way through lapped traffic allowed Abreu to hunt down Nienhiser and head for victory. Once clearing Nienhiser, Abreu was able to distance himself from the field. Abreu said, “It’s always fun to come run with these (MOWA) guys here in the Midwest. They’ve got a great series and an awesome group of drivers who run with them.” Scelzi powered around the top side of the ¼-mile, to catch Nienhiser and score a second place finish in his first series start with the MOWA Sprints. Paul Nienhiser, Shane Stewart, and Zach Daum rounded out the top five.

Friday’s event at Lincoln was the first event run for the Morrow Brothers Ford MOWA Sprints, since halted by the COVID-19 pandemic. The series will be in action Saturday, July 18 at Macon (Ill.) Speedway to round out a double-header weekend.

The finish: 1. Rico Abreu, 2. Dominic Scelzi, 3. Paul Nienhiser, 4. Shane Stewart, 5. Zach Daum, 6. Brian Bell, 7 Kameron Key, 8. Terry Babb, 9. Jacob Patton, 10. Brayton Lynch, 11. Cory Bruns, 12. Corbin Gurley, 13. Steve Short, 14. Colton Fisher, 15. Korey Weyant, 16. Chris Urish, 17. Logan Faucon, 18. Kyle Schuett, 19. Dustin Barks, 20. Jimmy Hurley, 21. Ryan Bunton.