Schwartz Victorious at Farmington

Ashmore, Illinois driver Danny Schwartz won Saturday night in the American Modified Series. (Tyson Graves Photo)

June 13, 2020 at St Francois County Raceway ($2,000 to win)

(By Tyson Graves)

Round two of the 2020 Summit Racing Equipment American Modified Series took place at St. Francois County Raceway in Farmington, Missouri. A hot afternoon brought out 21 competitors to compete for the $2,000 to win prize Saturday night. The Series had been to St. Francois back in 2019 with defending Series Champ Tyler Nicely taking home the victory that night.

Things got underway with SPEC Racing Engines qualifying. Out of 21 cars to take on the clock it was Danny Schwartz who put down the fastest lap with a time of 14.996 seconds. This set the field for a trio of heat races that would line the field up for the 30 lap main event to happen later in the evening.

Danny Schwartz set fast time out of 21 cars that attempted. (Tyson Graves Photo)

Hypercoils heat race one got the racing action underway on Saturday night. Fast Qualifier Danny Schwartz started on the pole and took the early lead. The yellow flag flew on lap two for the 81C of Chris Cole spinning in turn two. On the restart Schwartz kept the lead over Mike Savage. On lap four the caution was out once again as Cole Sensel and Brian Worley made contact and came to a stop on the track. Both drivers heat race was over. Danny Schwartz led the remaining 6 laps in route to his heat race win. Mike Savage finished second with Mark Cole third.

In the second heat race presented by FOX Shox it was Rick Stevenson who jumped out to the lead and didn't look back. Rick piloted his Pierce Platinum Chassis to the heat race win. Robert Powers came home second and Greg Swaringin was the third place finisher.

In the Fast Shafts sponsored final heat driver Brent Thompson took the lead early and drove on for the 10 lap heat race victory. Danny Resinger in the 15 machine finished runner up and Darryll Dickerson was third. The heat race action set the lineup for the main feature event paying $2,000 to win.

The 30 lap feature event headlined the show Saturday night in Farmington, MO. Danny Schwartz continued his view of being out front when he took the lead on the first lap. As the field came around on lap two the caution flag flew for the 36 of Cole Sensel, his night was done as he limped off the track. Lap three restart was the same as it had been all evening long, the 21 out front. On lap four the yellow came out for the 23W of Brian Worley going around. Also defending series champion Tyler Nicely slowed on the front stretch and pulled off with what looked to be a mechanical issue.

The next few laps were plagued with cautions. Mark Crady, Mark Cole, & Mitch Parmeley all charged with yellows between laps 6 through 10. This put the pressure on Schwartz to hit his marks on each restart as Brian Thompson was putting serious pressure on him at each restart. On lap 14 the yellow flew for the final time as Mike Savage had issues in turn 2 and called it a night.

On the final restart Danny Schwartz got his biggest challenge of the night as Brian Thompson stayed toe to toe with Schwartz. After a couple of laps his was able to break away from Thompson and get a half straight away lead. With a few laps to go Greg Swaringin, who started in the eight position overtook Thompson for the runner up spot. At the checkered flag it was Danny Schwartz claiming the $2,000 payday, followed by Greg Swaringin and Blake Thompson. Rick Stevenson and Brian Worley rounded out the top five. Brian's fifth place finish got himself the ALLSTAR Performance Hard Charger Award for the evening.

In victory lane Danny told Series announcer Barry Barnes about how tough it got during the middle stages of the race due to his racing shoe coming apart and making it difficult to operate the gas pedal. Danny was all smiles in victory lane not only because of his $2,000 payday but his son Deece, won the B-Mod feature back at their home track of Charleston, Illinois just minutes earlier.

It was a great opening weekend for the series. Two different winners in two different states. As of now the next event on the schedule is up in the air. The event scheduled for July 8th at Knox County Fairgrounds in Illinois has been cancelled due to COVID-19 restrictions. Stay informed with all the latest news and events from the series on their Facebook page or website

Mike Savage tries to take the lead away from Danny Schwartz in heat race action. (Tyson Graves Photo)

Feature Results (30 laps)

1. Danny Schwartz

2. Greg Swaringin

3. Brent Thompson

4. Rick Stevenson

5. Brian Worley

6. Danny Resinger

7. Chasten Boen

8. Darryll Dickerson

9. Randy Forster

10. Mark Cole

11. Chris Hayes

12. Mark Crady

13. Marshall Call

14. Robert Powers

15. Mike Savage

16. Mitch Pameley

17. Chris Cole

18. Gary Gross

19. Tyler Nicely

20. Cole Sensel

Heat 1 (10 laps)

1. Danny Schwartz

2. Mike Savage

3. Mark Cole

4. Chris Cole

5. Tim Nash

6. Cole Sensel

7. Brian Worley

Heat 2 (10 laps)

1. Rick Stevenson

2. Robert Powers

3. Greg Swaringin

4. Tyler Nicely

5. Chasten Boen

6. Randy Forster

7. Mitch Parmeley

Heat 3 (10 laps)

1. Brent Thompson

2. Danny Resinger

3. Darryll Dickerson

4. Gary Gross

5. Mark Crady

6. Chris Hayes

7. Marshall Call

Fast Qualifier: Danny Schwartz 14.996 seconds

Greg Swaringin goes through turn three and four on his way to his runner up finish. (Tyson Graves Photo)

Contingency Award Winners

SPEC Race Engines (Overall Fast Qualifier) $100 Certificate: Danny Schwartz

HYPERCOILS (Heat Race #1 Winner) (1) 5" Spring Certificate: Danny Schwartz

FOX SHOX (Heat Race #2 Winner) $100 Certificate: Rick Stevenson

FAST SHAFTS (Heat Race #3 Winner) $75 Certificate: Brent Thompson

PEM Racing (4th Place Finish) Quick Change Gear Set: Rick Stevenson

MAXIMA RACING OILS (Tuff 5th Place Finish) Care Package: Brian Worley

HOOKER HARNESS (Safe 6th Place Finish) $75 Certificate: Danny Resinger

WILWOOD DISC BRAKES(Lucky 7th Place Finish) $50 Certificate: Chasten Boen

VP RACING FUELS (Hard Luck) VP Fuel Jug: Cole Sensel

ALLSTAR PERFORMANCE (Hard Charger) $100 Certificate: Brian Worley

WILES DRIVESHAFTS (Longest Tow for Event) $100 Certificate: Tyler Nicely